I am an avid Matt Kenseth fan. I have been since he joined the Busch series in 1998. I liked seeing this low-key driver from Wisconsin wheeling an underfunded car and winning in it. I like the way he handles himself, both off and on the track. He's quiet but has an incredible sense of humor, quite dry and sarcastic (similar to me) he's a faith and family man. I like the way he races. He's always been a clean, but fair racer. He'll race you the way you race him.
2 weeks ago, at Kansas, he was leading (others say blocking) I say there is no blocking. Leader is the leader, he has to protect his position (or as they say Dale Earnhardt Sr always said, make that car as wide as possible). With 5 laps to go, 2nd place Joey Logano was trying to find a way around Kenseth, he looked high, he looked low, to no avail. So, instead of being able to pass him cleanly, he decided, going into turn 1, to go in wide-open and send Matt for a spin, costing him not only the race, but a shot at the championship. Matt made an incredible save, but the damage was done. Not to the car, but to his title hopes.
Fast forward last weekend to Talladega. There is a round of pit stops. Logano cuts across 3 lanes of traffic and cuts in front of Kenseth's nose. A frustrated Kenseth gets on his radio and says, "Tell Logano I'm going to kick his @$$ after this race. You tell him. Tell him to hide behind his daddy"
Tensions are mounting.
Fast forward to the paper clip at Martinsville yesterday. Late race restart, Kenseth running 4th. The 2 of Brad Keselowski and the 41 of Kurt Busch make contact. Keselowski then for some reason turns right into Kenseth (it may not have been deliberate, but I see it as deliberate) and takes both Matt and the 41 of Busch out of the race.
10 laps later, Kenseth comes out with a wounded race car, and as luck and fate would have it, he is right behind the 22 of Logano, who is leading. They go into turn 1, and the cars hook, and BAM! Both cars in the wall, effectively ending both of their races. I was watching the events unfold and I said, Matt is going to pay him back right here. And boom! Low and behold, he did, much to not only my excitement from the comfort of my home, but to the large crowd at the small Virginia track. The majority of the fans in attendance approved of what Matt did.
I know Matt will receive a harsh penalty. A lot of fans are screaming for Kenseth to be parked a race. All I see is now an even score. Logano spun Kenseth out at Kansas, preventing him from winning. So Kenseth returned the favor. The way I see it, he was tired of being pushed around, especially by the 2 young hothead Penske drivers. When you push Matt Kenseth over the edge, it's bad.
The problem is NASCAR. NASCAR set up this chase format as a playoff style elimination bracket. NASCAR is not a playoff/bracket sport. It never has been. The best driver over the course of a full season is champion in my eyes, not a guy who is good over a 2-or 3 race span.
Another problem with NASCAR is that several years ago, Robin Pemberton told the drivers to police themselves on track. "Have at it boys, and have a good time". So, with that being said, where is the fine line? Where does hard racing end and dirty driving begin?
It's hard for me to be impartial here, since Matt Kenseth IS my driver, and I respect MOST of the drivers out there, but I always have an issue with those that HAVE an issue with my driver. I expected payback. I never thought I would see it.
This is all on NASCAR. I applaud Matt for what he did, I'm just afraid that he'll be made an example of.
Off to my home track of Texas Motor Speedway, I'll be there.
Monday, November 2, 2015
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
